University of Nottingham vs QLTS School
Side-by-side SQE course comparison - price, pass rates, and who each is best for.
University of Nottingham
£7,500
online · SQE1 + SQE2 combined
QLTS School
£2,500
online · SQE1 + SQE2 combined
Not sure which provider is right for you? Book a 45-min strategy call and get a direct recommendation.
Book a session →QLTS School saves you £5,000 online. Neither provider publicly discloses independently verified pass rates.
Choose University of Nottingham if
Students wanting traditional university experience
Choose QLTS School if
Lowest cost entry point
Price difference
£5,000
QLTS School is cheaper
Over 18 months that's ~£278/month less
University of Nottingham
Top 20 UK university with outstanding law school
£7,500
online
Best for
Students wanting traditional university experience
QLTS School
Specialist SQE provider with proven track record
£2,500
online
Best for
Lowest cost entry point
Feature-by-Feature Breakdown
Green highlight = winner in that category.
| Category | University of Nottingham | QLTS School |
|---|---|---|
| Online price | £7,500 | £2,500WINS |
| Classroom price | £9,500 | - |
| SQE1 pass rate* self-reported | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Study formats | onlineclassroomhybrid | onlineself-paced |
| Full-time duration | 6-9 months | 3-6 months |
| Part-time duration | 12-18 months | 6-12 months |
| Tutor access | WINS | |
| Mock exams included | ||
| Community forum | ||
| Campus locations | Nottingham | Online only |
| Founded | 1881 | - |
* Pass rates are self-reported by providers and have not been independently verified by the SRA. National SQE1 average: 53% (Jan 2026). Treat with appropriate scepticism.
Strengths at a Glance
University of Nottingham
Top 20 UK university with outstanding law school
Best for
QLTS School
Specialist SQE provider with proven track record
Best for
Common Questions
Is University of Nottingham better than QLTS School?
Neither is universally better - it depends on what you prioritise. University of Nottingham (£7,500) works best for students who want students wanting traditional university experience. QLTS School (£2,500) suits those who want lowest cost entry point. The SRA does not endorse any particular provider.
How much could I save by choosing QLTS School?
QLTS School is £5,000 cheaper for online study than University of Nottingham. Over an 18-month study period that's roughly £278/month less. Whether that saving matters depends on whether the more expensive provider offers measurably better outcomes for your situation.
Do law firms care which SQE provider I used?
Firms primarily care that you passed - not which provider you used. Provider choice matters more for networking: BPP and University of Law run law firm events and have larger alumni networks. For smaller firms and in-house roles, provider is largely irrelevant.
Can I trust provider pass rates?
All SQE pass rates are self-reported by providers - the SRA does not publish institution-level data. The national SQE1 average is 53% (January 2026). University of Nottingham does not disclose pass rates. QLTS School does not disclose pass rates. Treat all provider figures with scepticism and consider what cohort they're measuring.
Still not sure which to pick?
See full reviews for every provider - pricing, course structure, and real student feedback.