University of Law vs College of Legal Practice
Side-by-side SQE course comparison - price, pass rates, and who each is best for.
University of Law
£15,150
online · SQE1 + SQE2 combined
College of Legal Practice
£4,900
online · SQE1 + SQE2 combined
Not sure which provider is right for you? Book a 45-min strategy call and get a direct recommendation.
Book a session →College of Legal Practice saves you £10,250 online. Neither provider publicly discloses independently verified pass rates.
Choose University of Law if
Students wanting campus experience
Choose College of Legal Practice if
Students prioritizing practical skills
Price difference
£10,250
College of Legal Practice is cheaper
Over 18 months that's ~£569/month less
University of Law
UK's largest specialist law school
£15,150
online
Best for
Students wanting campus experience
College of Legal Practice
Practical SQE training with focus on employability
£4,900
online
Best for
Students prioritizing practical skills
Feature-by-Feature Breakdown
Green highlight = winner in that category.
| Category | University of Law | College of Legal Practice |
|---|---|---|
| Online price | £15,150 | £4,900WINS |
| Classroom price | £18,850 | £4,900 |
| SQE1 pass rate* self-reported | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Study formats | onlineclassroomhybrid | online |
| Full-time duration | 6-12 months | 2-3 months |
| Part-time duration | 12-24 months | 20-40 weeks |
| Tutor access | ||
| Mock exams included | ||
| Community forum | ||
| Campus locations | London, Birmingham, Bristol, Chester, Guildford, Leeds, Manchester, Nottingham | Online only |
| Founded | 1876 | - |
* Pass rates are self-reported by providers and have not been independently verified by the SRA. National SQE1 average: 53% (Jan 2026). Treat with appropriate scepticism.
Strengths at a Glance
University of Law
UK's largest specialist law school
Best for
College of Legal Practice
Practical SQE training with focus on employability
Best for
Common Questions
Is University of Law better than College of Legal Practice?
Neither is universally better - it depends on what you prioritise. University of Law (£15,150) works best for students who want students wanting campus experience. College of Legal Practice (£4,900) suits those who want students prioritizing practical skills. The SRA does not endorse any particular provider.
How much could I save by choosing College of Legal Practice?
College of Legal Practice is £10,250 cheaper for online study than University of Law. Over an 18-month study period that's roughly £569/month less. Whether that saving matters depends on whether the more expensive provider offers measurably better outcomes for your situation.
Do law firms care which SQE provider I used?
Firms primarily care that you passed - not which provider you used. Provider choice matters more for networking: BPP and University of Law run law firm events and have larger alumni networks. For smaller firms and in-house roles, provider is largely irrelevant.
Can I trust provider pass rates?
All SQE pass rates are self-reported by providers - the SRA does not publish institution-level data. The national SQE1 average is 53% (January 2026). University of Law does not disclose pass rates. College of Legal Practice does not disclose pass rates. Treat all provider figures with scepticism and consider what cohort they're measuring.
Still not sure which to pick?
See full reviews for every provider - pricing, course structure, and real student feedback.